The struggle with diet

It’s been almost 6 months since I last posted a blog. I haven’t really run any races and I haven’t really worked on my other health issues.

It’s odd when you know exactly what you need to do, but you have trouble taking the leap to making it right. I think so much of it has to do with a level of comfort that one has with the status quo. I have never been great with change, I struggle with it. This is an enormous change that I face, changing how I have spent a lifetime eating. Breaking habits and food associations I developed as a young child.

The truth is, I think this might be my last resort. I’ve been given a variety of medications that are ‘supposed’ to make me feel better, but they haven’t. Even if those medications were working, I wouldn’t want to have to be on them for the rest of my life anyways.
The one thing I know I have control over, let me say that again for good measure, I HAVE CONTROL OVER THESE CHOICES, is the food that I am eating and the exercise that I am getting.

So, how am I going to go about making these changes? One thing I know about myself is that I need to make small changes over a longer period of time that become habits.

This first week, I want to remove two things from my diet, delivery pizza and Chinese. If I were being honest with myself, these are staples to my diet and I need to get rid of them until I find alternative recipes for making them. I also plan to add at least one fruit and veggie each day to my meals.
In the exercise department I am going to get back into my running which was halted due to a recent head cold, but I also want to start regularly lifting again, hitting the gym at least twice this week.

Slow, but steady, wins the race. It’s about a lifetime of changes, not just today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

