Tomorrow is Another Day

shanleah

This is me. I’d be lying if I said I don’t cringe a bit when I see this picture. I know, I just finished 31 miles and I raised money for an incredible organization. But I am really uncomfortable with this version of me. I am 25 pounds heavier than when I started graduate school, and quite frankly, I eat total crap. It’s time. I have laryngopharyngeal reflux, or “silent reflux” that causes a chronic cough. My body has aches and pains that it didn’t used to have.

I need to do something about this.

So, why isn’t easy to take care of ourselves?

The truth is, we all actually know how to do this right? Movement every day, eating mostly vegetables and fruit, with some grains and lean protein.

Wouldn’t it be nice if it were just that easy!

I’ve watched every food documentary out there, Food Matters, Food, Inc., Hungry for Change, Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. You name it and I’ve probably seen it. I know there is an inordinate amount of sugar in our foods today and that our ‘fresh’ foods are grown far away and lose most of their nutrients by the time they reach our grocery cart.

Yet, I can’t seem to pull it together and change. My friend Julia recommended that I use my blog to figure this out. Maybe as I go on this journey of self-improvement it’ll help others and others will throw me a bone.

They say the definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing and expect different results. Well, here is my first step in a new direction. I’m overweight guys, my body fat percentage is way too high. I can’t run and eat whatever I want and I need to start taking care of myself.

So here it is:

Weight: 145

Body fat percentage: 35%

Sigh. Time to make that change.

What was it that Scarlett O’Hara used to say? Tomorrow is another day.

 

Leave a Reply

