Dress Shopping is For the Birds

Sigh. Yards of sequins and silky fabric and all I could think of was that this was going to be a disaster. Maybe I don’t HAVE to go to this holiday party-yes, I have to go to this holiday party. Dress shopping is on a level with swimsuit shopping and I am not even in the store today. My mother did me a favor, she has great taste and she brought them home for me to look at. And honestly, that was all I could do was look.

It was one of those moments where I finally put two and two together and realized that I had let things get out of hand. I had seen the pictures, stepped on the scale….but now I was trying on a dress.

2014 was a great year for me. I accomplished so many things with running and I finally got my dissertation on track, but 2015 needed to be different. I am not much for setting New Year’s Resolutions, mostly because they seem silly. I’ve learned that waiting until the beginning of a new year is a silly reason to set a goal. Life is short, set the goal now and go for it!
I had some ideas rolling around in my head of what I wanted to do with my running. As DH likes to tease me, I have multiple running goals going on at the same time. In my mind they work together and aren’t really separate goals. Case in point, 50 marathons in 50 states can be a part of running 15 marathons in 2015. One does not exclude the other.
Yet, as I stared at these sparkly, shiny ‘dresses’ in front of me….I knew something else had to take priority.

Being a PhD student and working full time has really been tough for me. I am trying not to whine because it could always be worse, or harder, but it still hasn’t been easy. One of the side effects is binge eating lots of junk food and fast food (ok, admittedly that is an excuse), but you get where I am going.

I am 25 pounds overweight. These are not just cosmetic pounds, these are actual pounds. I need to lose this weight. It makes running very hard, joints and muscles hurt. It makes finding a dress hard, and, I am going to keep it real, I love pretty clothes.
I am that girl who watches the Biggest Loser while eating a bag of chips.
Last night I jokingly told DH that Bert and I were “Chubby Bunnies.” Hence The Chubby Bunneh Chronicles were born. In 2015, I am going to blog about my weight loss journey. I figure if folks can go on national TV then I can write about it and hopefully people will hold me accountable.

My goal is to focus on eating healthier and defending my dissertation. I would like to lose the 25 pounds by my birthday on March 28, 2015. That is around 2 pounds a week with a little wiggle room.

Focusing on getting me healthy will help with my dissertation too. A fast food brain is not one that writes well.

I hope you will follow along and help me through this journey.

5 thoughts on “Dress Shopping is For the Birds

  1. If you’re looking for a calorie tracker and progress tracker, I’ve found Sparkpeople helpful. Been working on those ‘PhD pounds’ on my end , pun int-ended. ~15-20 for me.

    • Hey Molly! Thanks for reading and the Sparkpeople tip! I was on Spark for a long time, but it kind of got hard to manage another social media type page…right now I am just using My Fitness pal

  2. Now I understand what you were talking about this morning :). You didn’t ask for my input, but I want to share a couple of thoughts:
    1) Continue to surround yourself with people who are also committed to living a healthy lifestyle. Run with other people at least once a week.
    2) Keep tracking with MFP for the accountability.

    As for your chubby bunny, I got nuthin’

  3. Keep it going Shannon and you will reach your goals—but not so many goals
    at one time! I do not understand dissertation pounds because I returned from
    OSU with a PhD, many pounds lighter than when I began, and exercised everyday by walking miles in and around the campus. Oh yes, I had a 30-hour a week job on campus which required lots of “writing newsletters and curriculum modules”. MORE WRITING—–you can do it too.
    Now, I need to lose a few pounds too but not right now—-I echo your bunny partner—I got nothing.
    Love
    GMA Baker

Leave a Reply

