Rabbit Ramblings

Sigh.

So, what is new with life? Well, one thing I haven’t talked much about is the fact that I am working on my PhD. I am at the stage they call being a “PhD Candidate” or what I like to call “hazing.” Ok Ok, so that was sort of a joke….sort of.

Actually, let’s give respect where respect is due. Hazing would be so much easier! This has got to be the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. Harder than any race, harder than any other job. Every time I think I have things together, I get feedback and find out I have so much more work in front of me. I don’t think I will feel good until I know the date of my defense.

I don’t talk about my dissertation much because frankly it’s overwhelming. I am making progress, but it often feels painstakingly slow. Or there are days where I take two steps forward only to take about four back.

I am in the education department at The Ohio State University studying the philosophy and history of education. My interest is in the ways that educational reform has come to impact public education.

Dissertation while working full time has been awfully stressful. Needless to say there isn’t much time for other activities. But I am still running. It was suggested multiple times that I take a break. To a certain extent I am. I am running as I can and fewer events. But, quite frankly, I can’t stop running all together. That is my most efficient form of stress relief.

I will occasionally update on the status of my dissertation. Hopefully soon I will have a defense date.

Since this is a rabbit ramble, here is a bunny:
IMG_0258

Leave a Reply

