A Wedding and Some Mountains

For those of you who don’t know this about me, I hate doing things that take me out of my comfort zone. I am most certainly a homebody. I prefer nice quiet evenings on the couch with my pets and my hubby and a glass of wine.

So anytime I try something new and scary (by my estimation) I have this tendency to cry. The first time I went skiing, I cried. The first time kayaking, I cried. The first time riding a jet ski, yup, you guessed it I cried. I don’t know what it is, nerves, adrenaline, maybe a bit of both, but I cry like there is no tomorrow in the middle of something new.

I guess you could say that I am an awful lot like a cautious little bunny 
So, this weekend was a huge step for me. At the very last minute, DH and I had the opportunity to go visit Colorado for a friend’s wedding. If you have ever traveled out west you know it can be quite pricey, but I lucked out with a fairly good deal.

Just so we are all on the same page, Colorado has mountains. Big ones. And high altitude. The first day we were out there DH decided we needed to go hike one of those darn things, so off we went to Chautauqua Park in Boulder. The elevation starts at a little over 5,000 feet and climbs (quickly) to over 7,000. Let’s just say I was not prepared for that kind of a hike. It was WELL out of my ability level, especially given the fact that I was not acclimated to the change in altitude. I definitely got sick and spend the rest of the day sick.

On Sunday I was registered for the Revel Rockies race but after how badly Saturday went I decided not to run it. The race started out even higher and while it descended rapidly, I was not comfortable with running it given how sick I had been. I also have the Hoosier Hundred coming up and I did not want to jeopardize that race.

So, instead, we drove out to Rocky Mountain National Park for some sightseeing, pictures, and perhaps a really easy trail. Quite honestly, being from Ohio, the Rockies are like nothing I had ever seen before. These mountains looks like something out of a Peter Jackson movie. The sky was a shade of blue that you don’t see in Ohio and the fields in the valley…I half expected to see…well, I don’t know what because it was just so surreal and otherworldly. I think that is the best description, seeing the mountains is like being in a totally different world. So completely different from the farmlands of the Midwest.

Or maybe it was the dry air and high altitude that made me feel so wondrous…who knows.
Either way, we made it to the National Park and opted for a very basic trail. It was a 5 mile round trip and considered beginner. I wanted to take it super slow and easy given how the day before went. I am glad I did because it was still very tough. We were both certainly tired once we finished the hike and both of us are in decent shape.

This whole weekend took me so far out of my comfort zone. Traveling on a plane by myself, hiking mountains, going to a new part of the country. And I never cried. For the first time I tried to embrace new experiences with joy rather than fear. My hubby even joined me and his act of bravery was to give Indian food a try (which he LOVED).
All in all, despite not going to the marathon, this weekend was a HUGE step for me. I leave you now with a couple of pictures.
Safe Travels!
PS- Don’t worry…the sneakers were still used!

Shan

mountain

Leave a Reply

