Paradise on Sanibel

Fellow travelers,

Have you ever been someplace that just…feels…like…home.

Where you feel relaxed, comfortable in your own skin, and have an inner peace?

That is what Sanibel Island is to me. I have been doing to Sanibel Island, Florida since I was just a little girl. My family (grandparents) have been travelling there even longer. When I arrive on the island all is well with the world.

I was so excited to be there, I did a happy dance and started playing “Happy” as soon as we hit the causeway!

DH and I have been to Sanibel three times now. For our honeymoon, first anniversary and now our fifth. We’ve chosen to stay at the same little hotel (the Sanibel Inn) each time. They have such great hospitality. The last two times we have been there the hotel staff left us a lovely note congratulating us on our anniversary along with a bottle of wine.

When we arrived I had to immediately hit the beach. I threw on the swimsuit and sunscreen, grabbed a towel and headed out to the ocean.

I don’t know what it is, but something happens when you arrive on the island. Everything seems right in the world. I could literally spend my entire day just sitting there listening and watching the waves coming and going. The tide makes a jingling sound because of all of the shells that it rolls forward and back.

I am not even sure how best to describe Sanibel for someone who has never been there. It has the feel to it, both calm and relaxing, with a sense of wonder and adventure. If you want to spend the day under an umbrella just enjoying the beach that’s fine-if you want to rent bikes and tour the local nature preserve (Ding Darling) that’s fine too. There is something for everyone on Sanibel. It’s great for families and for couples.

The whole island is teeming with wildlife. DH and I are always amazed at the different animals that we see. If you love to bird watch then this is the place for you, herons, egrets, rose spoon bills…

We saw turtles, osprey, dolphins and manatee!!!

One of my favorite activities on Sanibel is to go shelling. Known as the “Sanibel Stoop” it is not uncommon to see visitors hunkered down in the sand looking for treasures. I myself have quite the collection from multiple trips, but each visit brings the chance to find something new.

DH, took a few shots of me shelling:

photo 1

sanibel3

I am pretty hardcore about this process. I will try multiple beaches, at a variety of times of day. You never know what you might find and when, so it’s best to try at various times.

Sanibel Island also offers a variety of good eats. DH and I have a couple of favorites. You can’t go to the island without trying the Lighthouse CafĂ© for breakfast at least once.

IMG_0720

I have frequented this establishment since I was about 4 or 5, so be sure to check it out!

Some other favorites are the Island Cow, Island Pizza, Doc Ford’s, and RC Otter’s. They all seem to have animal names:)

Needless to say, this was an amazing trip for the two of us. We went on a shelling tour with Adventures in Paradise, we enjoyed good food, the beach, sunshine and the wildlife. All in all, it was just what I needed.

I will say this. Someday I am going to own a small house on Sanibel Island. If that isn’t an endorsement for you to visit, I don’t know what would be.

Cheers and happy journey,
Shannon

One thought on “Paradise on Sanibel

  1. Another Sanibel lover here! We’ve been two summers in a row and stayed at The Island Inn in one of their cottages both times. I know exactly what you mean about the feeling you get when you walk onto the beach. Like a long, slow exhale. Try Schnappers next time you’re down there. Incredible burgers, fries and ice cream.

Leave a Reply

